Previous Page Next Page

Educational Programs: All:Academic program approval
The institution demonstrates that each educational program for which academic credit is awarded is approved by the faculty and the administration.

  Compliant      Non-Compliant      Not Applicable


The Curriculum and Educational Policy Committee (CEPC) oversees and sets academic policies and procedures as stated in the Faculty Handbook. These responsibilities include: 

  • Overseeing the Core Curriculum
  • Reviewing proposal that will modify, establish or discontinue curricular programs
  • Developing policies pertaining to accepting transfer and advanced placement credits
  • Developing policies on academic standing including honors, probation, suspension and dismissal

As it relates to specific curricular issues, the types of modifications (or processes being proposed) include:

  • Changes in the title of a course
  • Changes in the suggested course sequence
  • Changes in pre-requisites for a course
  • Changes in the frequency of offering a course
  • Material change in the content of a course/course description
  • Changes in the course number
  • Deletion of a course or addition of a course
  • Changes in the number of required credit hours for a major or for a course
  • Establishing or discontinuing a major, minor, concentration or certificate program

The origination of any modifications must come from a full-time faculty member. In addition, the approval sequence begins at the level of the departmental or program curriculum committee. Following approval, it is evaluated at the level of the divisional curriculum committee.  The final level of evaluation/approval is the CEPC.

The membership of the CEPC consists of 12 faculty members distributed among four academic areas. Visiting members are elected from Business and Economics, Humanities, Natural Sciences and Mathematics, and Social Sciences. No more than two faculty members on the committee may be from a single department or curricular program. Faculty members on the CEPC will serve for 3-year staggered terms and may be re-elected. The division deans will appoint student members, and each student will serve a one-year term. Student members may be reappointed. Faculty representation of the CEPC will be based on the faculty size of each of the four academic areas. Membership of 4 of the 12 members is to be determined by academic area. The remaining 8 members are to be determined by a proportional total of all faculties across all academic areas. Each academic area will have one representative on the committee plus additional representatives according to the area’s faculty size. To calculate the additional representatives, the percentage of total faculty for an area should be multiplied by 8 (the number of positions remaining if each area is represented by 1 member). 

Following is the breakdown of the academic areas with percent of faculty and presentation on CEPC (each area has 1 representative + [(% of fac.) times 8] additional representatives):

  • (15%) (1 + 1) Business Administration and Economics
  • (40%) (1 + 3) English and Linguistics, History, Modern Foreign Languages, Music, and Philosophy & Religion
  • (36%) (1 + 3) Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics, Psychology
  • (9%) (1 + 1) Sociology, Political Science, Health & Physical Education

The CEPC submits its recorded minutes to the Faculty Council. A written report is submitted to the faculty one week prior to the last faculty meeting of the academic year.

Site Map | Morehouse Home Page Powered by Compliance Assist!