Date Released: January 8, 2017

ATLANTA – U.S. Rep. Cedric Richmond, (D-LA), a Morehouse College graduate, was elected to a two-year term as chair of the powerhouse Congressional Black Caucus on Wednesday.

He will lead the largest assembly of the CBC in the history of the political alliance. The ranks of the CBC have swelled to 49 members after victories in the last election.  
Richmond ’95 will assume leadership of the Caucus when Congress reconvenes in January. He replaces outgoing CBC Chairman G.K. Butterfield, (D-NC).
“I’m honored and humbled by the confidence my colleagues have placed in me to serve as chair of this revered Caucus, the conscience and intellect of the Congress,” Richmond said in a statement. “As we move into a new Congress, and the onset of a new [presidential] administration, our Caucus will remain committed to the values that have made the CBC among the most influential institutions in the nation.”
Richmond is the first Morehouse College alumnus to be elected as chair of the CBC. His election was applauded by members of the Morehouse Alumni Association and Morehouse College President Dr. John Silvanus Wilson, Jr. ’79.
Dr. Wilson said that Richmond’s respected leadership will provide much needed comfort to the black community in the wake of a new presidential administration.
“It is truly another example of the inspirational and transformative leaders born of Mother Morehouse,” Dr. Wilson said. “The election of Congressman Richmond exemplifies how Morehouse Men have continued the legacy of leading consequential lives.” 
Richmond thanked Butterfield for his leadership of the CBC Wednesday and said that he will pick up the mantle and remain steadfast in the effort to enact policy to protect the voting rights of minorities, spur criminal justice reform, and increase economic opportunities for African Americans.
“I look forward to working with our membership as we embark on an ambitious agenda,” Richmond said in a statement. “I stand on the shoulders of a choir of brave African American women and men whose struggles made way for our progress. I will work every day to make them proud.” 
Richmond joins an impressive list of politicians elected to lead the CBC. They include: Charles Coles Diggs, Jr. 1971–1972; Louis Stokes 1972–1974; Charles B. Rangel 1974–1976; Yvonne Brathwaite Burke 1976–1977; Parren James Mitchell 1977–1979; Cardiss Collins 1979–1981; Walter Edward Fauntroy 1981–1983; Julian Carey Dixon 1983–1985; Mickey Leland 1985–1987; Mervyn Malcolm Dymally 1987–1989; Ronald V. Dellums 1989–1991; Edolphus Towns 1991–1993; Kweisi Mfume 1993–1995; Donald M. Payne 1995–1997; Maxine Waters 1997–1999; James E. Clyburn 1999–2001; Eddie Bernice Johnson 2001–2003; Elijah E. Cummings 2003–2005; Melvin L. Watt 2005–2007; Carolyn Cheeks Kilpatrick 2007–2009; Barbara Lee 2009–2011; Emanuel Cleaver 2011–2013; Marcia Fudge 2013–2015; and G. K. Butterfield 2015–2017.

Last Modified: January 19, 2017, 12:01 PM, by: Synera Shelton

< Previous | Next >