Cyber Village Faculty

The Division of Science and Mathematics represents some of the brightest and best leaders. Our faculty members embody a long tradition of excellence, and are passionate about teaching and eager to bring real world experience and knowledge to the classroom.

Biology

  • J. K. Haynes
  • David Packard Professor and Dean of Science and Mathematics
  • Email: jhaynes@morehouse.edu
  • Website: http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/jkhaynes
  • Research Interests: Cell Biology; Cell Membranes; Biochemical Characterization of Sickle Cell Membranes; Regulation of Cell Volume; Higher Education and Leadership Development
  • Gregory D. Ford
  • Assistant Professor, Biology
  • Email: gford@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Using a systems approach to determine mechanisms of acute brain injury (ABI) and stroke. The lab uses a neuroinformatics framework to construct molecular networks to elucidate the mechanisms of traumatic brain injury, exposure to neurotoxins and stroke. The goal of the lab is to identify biomarkers and novel therapeutic targets for ABIs and stroke.
  • Valerie K. Haftel
  • Associate Professor, Biology
  • Email: vhaftel@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Neurobiology, Physiology
  • Elisabeth Javason
  • Associate Professor, Biology
  • Email: ejavason@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Stem Cell Biology
  • Alexandra Peister
  • Assistant Professor, Biology
  • Email: apeister@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Evaluation of Stem Cell Sources for the Production of Engineered tissues.
  • Wallace Sharif
  • Assistant Professor, Biology
  • Email: wsharif@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Molecular Mechanisms of Aging
  • Wasi Siddiqui
  • Professor, Biology
  • Email: wsiddiqu@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Microbiology; Interferons and Virus Multiplication
  • Kristy Wilson
  • Visiting Assistant Professor, Biology
  • Email: kwilson@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Biology education research to assess the effects of active learning on the development of transferable skills (problem solving, information literacy, life-long learning, and communication), motivation, outcomes, and knowledge retention.

Chemistry

  • Dr. John H. Hall
  • Bruce Rauner Professor of Natural Sciences and Chair
  • Email: jhall@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Understanding the Mechanisms of Tropospheric and Stratospheric Chemical Reactions (specifically those involving photochemical oxidation)
  • Troy Story
  • Professor, Chemistry
  • Email: tstory@morehouse.edu
  • Website: www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/tstory
  • Research Interests: Applications of Differential Geometry and Exterior Calculus to Dynamics: Hamiltonian Mechanics; Geometric Optics, Irreversible Thermodynamics, Black Hole Dynamics, Electromagnetic and Classical String Dynamics; Electromagnetic and Classical String Dynamics; and Navier-Stokes dynamics, and Economic Growth Dynamics.

Computer Science

  • Kenneth Perry
  • Associate Professor and Chair, Computer Science
  • Email: kperry@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Noninvasive Fetal Electrocardiography; Computer Science Education; Wireless Telecommunications
  • Kinnis Gosha
  • Instructor, Computer Science
  • Email: kgosha@morehouse.edu
  • Website: www.kinnisgosha.com
  • Research Interests: Advanced Learning Technologies, Virtual Agents, Technology Entrepreneurship and Culturally Relevant
  • Chung Ng
  • Associate Professor, Computer Science
  • Email: cng@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interest: Computational Complexity; Design and Analysis of Algorithms; Programming Languages; Distributed Computing; Scheduling Theory and Optimization

Mathematics

  • Abdelkrim Brania
  • Professor, Mathematics
  • Email: abrania@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Geometric Function Theory; Applied Mathematics
  • Joseph Eyles
  • Assistant Professor, Mathematics
  • Email: jeyles@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Mathematics Education
  • Rudy Horne
  • Associate Professor, Mathematics
  • Email: rhorne@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Optic fiber pulse propagation; models of optic devices; models which describe the evolution of certain variables in queuing systems
  • Kiandra Johnson
  • Instructor, Mathematics
  • Email: kijohnso@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: The use of technology to enhance engagement and learning in mathematics
  • Tuwaner Lamar
  • Assistant Professor, Mathematics
  • Email: tlamar@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Boundary Value Problems for Ordinary Differential Equations, Applied Mathematics, Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing
  • Benedict Nmah
  • Assistant Professor, Mathematics
  • Email: bnmah@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Reliability Optimization and Numerical Analysis
  • Shirley Thompson
  • Associate Professor, Mathematics
  • Email: sthompso@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Mathematics Education; Algebra; Knot Theory; Computer Science
  • Ulrica Wilson
  • Assistant Professor, Mathematics
  • Email: uwilson@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Noncommutative Ring Theory; Combinational Matrix Theory
  • De Ting Wu
  • Associate Professor, Mathematics
  • Email: dtwu@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Applied Mathematics; Numerical Study of Stochastic Differential Equations; Teaching Mathematics with Technology
  • George Yuhasz
  • Assistant Professor, Mathematics
  • Email: gyuhasz@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Symbolic Computation; Computer Algebra
  • Chaohui Zhang
  • Associate Professor, Mathematics
  • Email: czhang@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Riemann Surfaces; Teichmuller Theory; Hyperbolic Geometry; Low Dimensional Geometry and Topology

Physics & Engineering

  • Willie S. Rockward
  • Associate Professor and Chair, Physics and Dual-Degree Engineering
  • Email: wrockwar@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Micro Optics and Lasers
  • John Howard
  • Instructor, Physics and Dual-Degree Engineering
  • Email: jhoward@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Condensed Matter Physics
  • Emmanuel Karikari
  • Assistant Professor, Physics and Dual-Degree Engineering
  • Email: ekarikari@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Structural Properties of Materials
  • Carlyle E. Moore
  • Associate Professor, Physics and Dual-Degree Engineering
  • Email: cmoore@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Nuclear and PArticle Physics
  • Emmanuel Obasuyi
  • Adjunct Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Email: eobasuyi@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Thermal Science
  • Oyekale Oyedeji
  • Associate Professor, Physics
  • Email: koyedeji@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Solid State and Dynamical Systems – Nonlinear
  • Eddie C. Red
  • Assistant Professor, Physics and Dual-Degree Engineering
  • Email: ered@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Electron/Photon Interactions with Atoms and Molecules; Quantum Control of Molecular Reactions Development and Incorporation of Numerical Techniques into High Performance Algorithms
  • Augustine J. Smith
  • Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Email: asmith@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Atomic Physics

Psychology

  • David Wall Rice
  • Associate Professor and Chair, Psychology
  • Email: drice@morehouse.edu
  • Website: www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/drice
  • Research Interests: Identity theory development
    Discourse, narrative and life-story-tellings as related to identity construction
    The impact of popular culture on personality correlates and psychological behavior
    Identity and the negotiation of achievement, particularly among African American males
    The impact of psycho-social constructs on academic achievement (i.e. race self-complexity, multiple-selves, stereotype threat)
  • Jann H. Adams
  • Professor, Psychology
  • Email: jadams@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: John Henryism and elevated cardiovascular reactivity, hypertension and other long-term health consequences
    Intervention effectiveness in reducing attrition and enhancing performance of African American undergraduates in the STEM fields
  • Jenna Andrews-McClymont
  • Visiting Assistant Professor, Psychology
  • Research Interests: Psychology of art and aesthetics (especially emotional response to works of art)
    Narrative psychology (particularly the developmental significance of birth stories)
    Nonverbal communication and social skills
    Collecting/acquisitive behaviors, both normal and pathological (i.e. compulsive hoarding)
  • Tina R. Chang

  • Associate Professor, Psychology
  • Email: changtr@gmail.com
  • Research Interests: Effects of captivity on non-human primate behavior & psychological well-being
    Evolutionary theory and affordances as predictors of environmental preference in human and non-human primates
    Application of applied behavior analysis to program evaluation in non- traditional work settings
  • Daniel Hummer

  • Assistant Professor, Psychology
  • Email: dhummer@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests:
    Neurobiological mechanisms involved in the synchronization of the circadian clock to the light-dark cycle
    Development and sexual differentiation of brain and behavior
    Neuroendocrinology of social behavior
  • Chris Markham

  • Assistant Professor, Psychology
  • Email: cmarkham@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Neurobiological mechanisms and consequences of social defeat stress
    Ethological models of fear and anxiety
    Neuroanatomical circuits mediating defensive and aggressive behavior
  • Bryant T. Marks

  • Associate Professor, Psychology
  • Email: bmarks@morehouse.edu
  • Website: www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/bmarks
  • Research Interests:
    The psychological impact of the Black College experience
    The impact of activated stereotypes on performance and behavior
    Gender stereotypes among African Americans
    Racial identity as a predictor of academic achievement, self-esteem, and ingroup and outgroup racial attitudes
  • Yohance Murray

  • Assistant Professor, Psychology
  • Email: yohance.murray@yahoo.com
  • Research Interests: African American's use of social support networks
    Race and gender differences in disclosure and emotional sharing in psychotherapy
    African American spirituality and psychological well being
  • Martin Rosenman

  • Professor, Psychology
  • Email: mrosema@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Leadership, creative problem solving and decision making
    Organizational innovation through employee ideas
    Psychology and the financial markets
    Scientific discovery
  • Margaret L. Weber-Levine

  • Professor Emeritus, Psychology
  • Email: mweberlevine@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: The uses and effectiveness of complementary and alternative practices in health and illness
    The effects of nutrition and other environmental factors on brain function and behavior/health psychology
    Issues in the responsible conduct of science
  • Sinead N. Younge

  • Associate Professor, Psychology
  • Email: syoung@morehouse.edu
  • Research Interests: Psychosociocultural antecedents of health behaviors
    HIV/AIDS prevention and tertiary interventions
    Community based participatory action research
    Program development, implementation and evaluation