News and Publications

Campus News

Nissan Program Fuels Student Leadership

Dewey Fowler, SGA president received a certificate after completing the Nissan Student Government Leadership Program. Fowler attended the inaugural session of the program on the campus of Tougaloo College in Mississippi. One of 60 student government association presidents from Historically Black Colleges and Universities, he was invited to participate in this intensive development and training program where students participated in leadership sessions that are generally reserved for senior executives of Fortune 500 companies.

“Nissan is committed to developing young leaders who will help take this nation to a higher level of excellence,” said Jim Morton, senior vice president for Administration and Finance for Nissan North America. “I was extremely impressed with the students’ insight, inquisitiveness and enthusiasm. They are to be commended for their willingness to share themselves and to serve others in their role as student government presidents. It is my hope that they had fun, forged new relationships and honed new leadership skills.”

A number of internationally acclaimed leaders visited the program to offer advice and personal experiences on how to build a strong foundation for success on their respective campuses, in their communities, in government and in global corporations. These guests included Julius Erving, NBA Hall of Famer; Stedman Graham, author and motivational speaker; Major General Marcelite Harris, the first Air Force African American female general; Michael Lomax, president and CEO of the United Negro College Fund; Tavis Smiley, author and media personality; and Gwendolyn Sykes, CFO for NASA.

More Campus News
John Handy Named Vulcan Materials Morehouse Faculty Member of the Year for 2012-13
Spike Lee ’79 Urges Students to Follow Their Passions, Not Their Wallets
Zimbabwean-Born Businessman Commits $6.4 Million to Send 40 African Students to Morehouse
Ten Milwaukee-area Students Become Men of Morehouse Through New Milwaukee Scholarship Program