Department of Biology

Faculty

Lawrence Blumer

Lawrence S. Blumer
Professor
Hope Hall, Room 302
(470) 639-0283
lawrence.blumer@morehouse.edu 
Faculty Web Page:
http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/lblumer 
Educational Background: BGS: University of Michigan, 1974
MS: Zoology, University of Michigan, 1978
PhD: Biological Sciences, University of Michigan, 1982
Areas of Expertise: Director of Environmental Studies Program
Research Interests: Ecology, Animal Behavior, Evolution, Instructional Laboratory Pedagogy

   
 

David B. Cooke III
Professor
Program Director
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay, Room 129
(470) 639-0232
david.cooke@morehouse.edu
Faculty Web Page:
http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/dcooke

   
 

Dwann Davenport
Assistant Professor
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay, Room 132
(470) 639-0448
dwann.davenport@morehouse.edu

   
Valerie Haftel

Valerie K. Haftel
Associate Professor
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay Hall, Room 323
(470) 639-0626
valerie.haftel@morehouse.edu
Educational Background: B.S. Biology Bucknell University, 1991; M.S. Physiology, Hahnemann University, 1994; Ph.D. Physiology, Emory University, 1999
Areas of Expertise: Neurobiology, Physiology

   
 

Jeffrey Handy
Assistant Professor
Hope Hall, Room 215
(470) 639-0294
jeffrey.handy@morehouse.edu

   
 

J. K. Haynes
Professor
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay, Room 131
(470) 639-0200
john.haynes@morehouse.edu
Faculty Web Page:
http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/jkhaynes

   

Triscia Hendrickson
Associate Professor
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay, Room 207
(470) 639-0633
triscia.hendrickson@morehouse.edu
Faculty Web Page:
http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/thendric
Educational Background:  
B.S., Biology, University of the Virgin Islands
Ph.D., Biochemistry, Cell & Developmental Biology, Emory University
Post-doctoral Fellowship, FIRST program, Emory University School of Medicine
Area of Expertise: Cell Biology
Research Interests: Regulation of Molecular Motors; Undergraduate STEM Education

   
 

Keith M. Howard
Associate Professor and Chair
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay, Room 134
(470) 639-0395
keith.howard@morehouse.edu
Faculty Web Page:
http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/khoward

   
 

Joseph W. McCray
Associate Professor
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay, Room 322
(470) 639-0281
joseph.mccray@morehouse.edu
Faculty Web Page:
http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/jmccray

   
Alexandra Peister

Alexandra Peister
Associate Professor
Hope Hall, Room 315
(470) 639-0366 or (470) 639-0499
alexandra.peister@morehouse.edu
Educational Background: BA -Biology, Franklin and Marshall College; PhD , Human Genetics, Tulane University; Post-doctoral fellowship Biomedical Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology
Areas of Expertise: Evaluation of stem cell sources for engineering 3D bone, fat, cartilage and muscle.

   
 

Wallace Sharif
Assistant Professor
Hope Hall, Room 303
(470) 639-0337
wallace.sharif@morehouse.edu
Educational Background: BS, Chemistry, Morehouse College; PhD, Biochemistry, Vanderbilt University
Areas of Expertise: Cellular and Molecular Biology; The Biology of Aging

   
 

Ethell Vereen
Assistant Professor
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay, Room 130
(470) 639-0534
ethell.vereen@morehouse.edu