Department of Biology

Faculty

Lawrence Blumer

Lawrence S. Blumer
Professor
Hope Hall, Room 302
(404) 653-7873 or (404) 658-1142
lblumer@morehouse.edu 
Faculty Web Page
http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/lblumer 
Educational Background: BGS: University of Michigan, 1974
MS: Zoology, University of Michigan, 1978
PhD: Biological Sciences, University of Michigan, 1982
Areas of Expertise: Director of Environmental Studies Program
Research Interests: Ecology, Animal Behavior, Evolution, Instructional Laboratory Pedagogy

   
 

David B. Cooke III
Professor and Chair
Program Director
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay, Room 134
(404) 653-7871
dcooke@morehouse.edu
Faculty Web Page
http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/dcooke

 

   
 

Gregory D. Ford
Assistant Professor
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay, Room 130
(404) 614-6015
Laboratory: Hope Hall 214
(404) 281-2800 ext: 2318
gford@morehouse.edu

   
Valerie Haftel

Valerie K. Haftel
Associate Professor
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay Hall, Room 320
(404) 653-7874
vhaftel@morehouse.edu 
Educational Background: B.S. Biology Bucknell University, 1991; M.S. Physiology, Hahnemann University, 1994; Ph.D. Physiology, Emory University, 1999
Areas of Expertise: Neurobiology, Physiology

   
 

J. K. Haynes
Professor and Dean of Science and Mathematics
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay, Room 104
(404) 215-2610
jhaynes@morehouse.edu
Faculty Web Page: http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/jkhaynes

   
Triscia Hendrickson

Triscia Hendrickson
Assistant Professor
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay, Room 205
(404) 653-7875
thendrickson@morehouse.edu
Faculty Web Page: http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/thendric
Educational Background:  
B.S., Biology, University of the Virgin Islands
Ph.D., Biochemistry, Cell & Developmental Biology, Emory University
Post-doctoral Fellowship, FIRST program, Emory University School of Medicine
Area of Expertise: Cell Biology
Research Interests: Regulation of Molecular Motors; Undergraduate STEM Education

   
 

Keith M. Howard
Associate Professor
Hope Hall, Room 115
(404) 653-7876
khoward@morehouse.edu
Faculty Web Page: http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/khoward

   
 

Joseph W. McCray
Associate Professor
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay, Room 322
(404) 653-7872
jmccray@morehouse.edu
Faculty Web Page: http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/jmccray

   
Alexandra Peister

Alexandra Peister
Associate Professor
Hope Hall, Room 315
(404) 653-7879
apeister@morehouse.edu
Educational Background: BA -Biology, Franklin and Marshall College; PhD , Human Genetics, Tulane University; Post-doctoral fellowship Biomedical Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology
Areas of Expertise: Evaluation of stem cell sources for engineering 3D bone, fat, cartilage and muscle.

   
 

Wallace Sharif
Assistant Professor
Hope Hall, Room 303
(404) 653-7880
wsharif@morehouse.edu
Educational Background: BS, Chemistry, Morehouse College; PhD, Biochemistry, Vanderbilt University
Areas of Expertise: Cellular and Molecular Biology; The Biology of Aging

   
 

Wasi Siddiqui
Professor
Nabrit-Mapp-McBay, Room 131
(404) 653-7877
wsiddiqu@morehouse.edu